Appleton TMA Certification

Federal law in 23 USC §134 requires each metropolitan planning organization (MPO) to carry out a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive (“3-C”) planning process designed to foster involvement by all users of the system, such as the business community, community groups, environmental organizations, freight operators, and the general public, through a proactive public participation process. A MPO is designated for each urbanized area with a population of more than 50,000 individuals. MPOs that exceed 200,000 individuals as determined by the 2010 Census are designated as Transportation Management Areas (TMAs). East Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission is the designated TMA for the Fox Cities Urbanized Area. The Appleton TMA includes the cities of Appleton, Neenah, Menasha, and Kaukauna; the villages of Kimberly, Combined Locks, Harrison, Little Chute, and Sherwood; the towns of Buchanan, Grand Chute, Greenville, Harrison, Kaukauna, Menasha, Neenah, Vandenbroek; and the counties of Calumet, Outagamie, and Winnebago.

The following links are being provided for the FHWA, FTA, and other reviewing agencies and members of the public in an effort to streamline the review process. The following are certification topics for review:

ECWRPC website