Fox Cities and Oshkosh MPO

Fox Cities Area MPO – The Appleton TMA includes the cities of Appleton, Neenah, Menasha, and Kaukauna; the villages of Kimberly, Combined Locks, Greenville, Harrison, Little Chute, and Sherwood; the towns of Buchanan, Grand Chute, Kaukauna, Menasha, Neenah, Vandenbroek; and the counties of Calumet, Outagamie, and Winnebago.

Oshkosh Area MPO – The Oshkosh Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) encompasses the city of Oshkosh, the towns Algoma, Black Wolf, Nekimi, Oshkosh, Vinland and Winnebago County.

Long Range Transportation Planning
Public Transit & Specialized Transportation
Transportation Improvement Program
Congestion Management Process
Obligated Projects
Bicycle and Pedestrian Planning
Section 5310 Program
Appleton TMA Certification

Under federal law each metropolitan area in the nation, with a population greater than 50,000 must have a Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) that considers at least a 20 year time frame to be eligible for federal transportation funds.  The LRTP is updated every 5 years to continually have a 20 year planning horizon.

East Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (ECWRPC), the MPO designated governing body, works with all jurisdictions, operating agencies and the public to carry out cooperative, continuing and comprehensive transportation and land use planning. The ECWRPC certifies that the planning requirements have been met, which includes a Unified Transportation Work Program, a Public Participation Plan, a Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and a Long Range Transportation and Land Use Plan.

All the jurisdictions that comprise the urbanized area worked together to compile and prepare a collective future land use plan.  The planning process includes participation from the MPO Technical Advisory Committee (TAC), the Long Range Plan Committee, and the standing Transportation Committee of the Policy Board for the MPO. The MPO works closely with Federal Highway Administration and Wisconsin Department of Transportation staff, public and private transportation providers and other stakeholders in the MPO area. The public was invited to participate in all facets of the process and were solicited to review and comment at key points including the analysis and draft recommendations. The TAC, Long Range Plan Committee and Policy Board reviewed and discussed the alternative analysis used to identify future transportation needs. The plan represents a collective long term vision for the Fox Cities area based on local land use plans and policies.

Comprehensive Safety Action Plan

Whether people are driving, biking, skating, walking, jogging, pushing a wheelchair, or riding the bus, roadways should get everyone, young and old, where they need to go. The communities within the Appleton (Fox Cities) and Oshkosh Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO) constantly work to make roadways safer for all road users.

Established as part of the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law (BIL), the Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) discretionary program funds regional, local, and Tribal initiatives through grants to prevent roadway deaths and serious injuries.

The ECWRPC Comprehensive Safety Action Plan (CSAP) fulfills the Action Plan requirements set forth by the SS4A Program, making the Appleton (Fox Cities) MPO, Oshkosh MPO, and the municipalities within, eligible to apply for SS4A Demonstration and/or Implementation Grants.

Comprehensive Safety Action Plan

ECWRPC website